Bilateral Relations

Ireland (Éire) recognised the Republic of Estonia on 27 August 1991 and diplomatic relations were established on 10 September 1991. Ireland has never recognized Estonia’s annexation neither de iure or de facto.

Ireland’s Ambassador to Estonia is Frances Kiernan (as of 4 September 2018) and Estonia’s Ambassador to Ireland is Aino Lepik von Wirèn (as of 4 September 2018).

Previously, Estonia was represented in Ireland by Ambassador Riivo Sinijärv (1994-1995), Ambassador Raul Mälk (1996-2003), Ambassador Simmu Tiik (2003-2006), Ambassador Andre Pung (2006-2010), Mait Martinson (2010-2014) and Kristi Karelsohn (2014-2018). Chargé d’Affaires have been a.i. Jüri Seilenthal (1997-1999), Chargé d’Affaires a.i. Triin Parts (1999-2002) and Chargé d’Affaires a.i. Krista Kilvet (2002-2003).

On 3 December 1991 Paul D. Dempsey, residing in Stockholm, was accredited as Ireland’s first ambassador to Estonia. He was succeeded by Dáithí O’Ceallaigh (1995-1998) and Gearóid Ó Broin (1999–2001), both residing in Helsinki. The first ambassador to reside in Tallinn was Sean Farrell (2001-2004). After that, Noel Kilkenny (2004-2008), Thomas Bolster (2008-2010), Peter McIvor (2010-2014) and Frank Flood (2014-2018) have also resided here.

On 8 June 2022, an honorary consul’s office was opened in Cork. The Estonian Honorary Consul in the city of Cork and the counties of Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford is entrepreneur Neil George Kenefick.

From 1927-1931 the honorary consul of the Republic of Estonia in Dublin was Richard J. Kelly, from 1937-1938 it was Thomas Franklin Laurie, and from 1938-1960 the role was fulfilled by John McEvoy.