An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information



To Ireland
January 2019 Speaker of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor
January – February 2018 Prime Minister Jüri Ratas
February 2017 Speaker of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor
January 2016 Commander of the Estonian Defence Forces, General Riho Terras
March 2013 Minister of Foreign Affairs Urmas Paet
February 2013 Minister of Defence Urmas Reinsalu
December 2012 Foreign Minister Urmas Paet at OSCE Ministerial
June 2012 President Toomas Hendrik Ilves at the OSCE internet freedom conference in Dublin
April 2012 President Toomas Hendrik Ilves on a working visit
April 2008 President Toomas Hendrik Ilves on a state visit
October 2006 Foreign Minister Urmas Paet
May 2004 Prime Minister Juhan Parts
February 2003 Prime Minister Siim Kallas
March 2000 Foreign Minister Toomas Hendrik Ilves


To Estonia
October 2018 Minister for Trade, Business & Employment Pat Breen at Tallinn Digital Summit
September 2018 Simon Coveney, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Seán Ó Fearghaíl, Chairman of Dáil Éireann
May 2017 Dara Murphy, Minister of State for European Affairs and Data Protection, and Pat Breen, Minister of State for Employment and Small Business
May 2004 Prime Minister Bertie Ahern
October 2003 Minister for Defence Michael Smith
June 2003 Prime Minister Bertie Ahern
May 2001 President Mary McAleese on state visit, accompanied by Minister of Culture Sile de Valera and Deputy Secretary of State Peter Ryan